Tracey Miller – MSW intern from IUSB – shares her thoughts

What saves a man is to take a step. Then another step.
C. S. Lewis

Observing eighteen women taking their first steps toward independence in the Soup of Success Program is exciting.  I started my internship with CCS on January 10, 2012,  as part of fulfilling my MSW program at IUSB.  Working with these women from TEAMS 7  & 8 involves sitting in on classes and helping in the production of the gourmet soups that are sold at SOS.  The women attend classes about computers, careers, money management, and individual goals.   I am amazed at the growth and motivation that I see on a daily basis.   These women are a support system for each other, are supported through the staff at SOS and gain support from a mentor in the community, who volunteers to lend a hand.

What I didn’t anticipate was that I would be energized by these women.

I see their hard work and dedication to better themselves and I am encouraged to continue in following my goals too.

Join the Conversation

